Music & Mental Health

When you’re having a bad day with your mental health, what do you do to help yourself?


Here’s the deal: I live with severe depression and anxiety. I have to take a SSRI every day to stave off the worst of the symptoms that I face (namely, panic attacks), and while that helps alongside with therapy, these aren’t the cure all. I still have days that I feel down. Worthless. Pathetic. Undeserving of being alive, or of having love, or work. Dealing with Imposter’s Syndrome. It happens.

When I’m having a particularly¬†bad day, I turn to music.

I’ve been knee deep in music for as long as I can remember. When times were rough, I had music as a source of comfort, a private hideaway to get away from the worst that I was dealing with. I had music in good times when life seemed full of promise and hope. I had music as an accessory to grocery shopping, and music when I was hospitalized last year. Music has been the backbone of my life.

So when I have that bad day, I curl up with some music – along with some chocolate and perhaps a warm apple cider, or cold pumpkin drink – and close my eyes.

My suggestions:

VNV Nation is my favorite band, and I can recommend SO MANY SONGS – I might in one of these monthly posts, in fact – but this song, in particular, is a great, if sad, reminder that sometimes you just need to cry it out. You shouldn’t have to change yourself to fit in.

Sometimes you need to see something cute <3

Sometimes you need perspective…

…sometimes you need to feel inspired…

…and sometimes, you just need something awesome.

There’ll be more music posts/recommendations to come, I’m sure. If you interested in some suggestions, leave me a comment below.

The most important thing to remember is that you are still a human being worthy of love, dignity, and respect. Take care of yourself. <3

Leave a Reply

