#EndFrostMageHate

So I planned on making today’s post a book review, but it looks like I’ll have to get to that next time – today was the announcement for the next WoW expansion, Legion. And while I’m going to admit that I’m cautiously optimistic about it – the class halls look interesting, and I’m very interested in the new Hero Class, Demon Hunter – it’s not what I want to talk about today.

Namely: why does everyone seem to hate Frost Mages?

It's not easy being blue.
It’s not easy being blue.

That’s Lireal, my main, a level 90 Frost Mage on the Silver Hand server – feel free to say hi! (I tend to turn my account back on when holiday events are happening.) I have a fun time playing her, and I like having the Water Elemental pet to accompany me when I play. But my fun is slightly dampened when random pugs feel the need to comment about how, simultaneously, Frost is OP, but sucks. It hasn’t happened often, honestly, and I’m sure other classes get similar complaining handed to them, but I have to wonder why there’s just so much hate delivered towards Frost in general. Is it because Fire or Arcane does more damage? Is it because of the pet? Perhaps because it’s a bit easier to solo as a Mage when you have an Elemental following you?

This is all speculation, since I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not a WoW power-player. I play PVE exclusively since PVP is unappealing, and I couldn’t tell you the first thing about gear. I play because I enjoy the quest lines and characters I meet. WoW is the first MMO that I’ve played that has held my attention enough for me to level my character up to an almost end-game level. It’s very engaging (Skinner box mechanics notwithstanding).

So when I was watching the stream today – and they mentioned a Fire Mage staff, with no indication of a Frost equivalent – I decided I had enough, damnit. It’s time to give Frost Mages a chance, and to scrape them up from the underbelly of the game and say “I think you’re swell”. So I’m starting #EndFrostMageHate to combat the awful stereotypes that Frost Mages face. Take a stand with me!

Do you play WoW? If so, what’s your class, and what do you like about it? If you don’t, why not?

Author: Amethyst

Just a geeky goth who has a lot to say about very little of importance.

Leave a Reply

